#You say#She said#I think#I liked#You did not like#Why?


The crown of embers / Rae Carson.

“It was a good book. I liked the way the author wrote it: it was simple and easy to understand, but precise. I also liked the characters and the setting of the story. But I think that the story is a little heavy, having the main character fall in love twice in the first book and once more in this second book. ”  Annie

Dead until dark : [a Sookie Stackhouse novel] / Charlaine Harris.

This is the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series that the tv show True Blood is based off of. I started reading it because I adore the show. I found that this book had a good plot line, but that the writing quality wasn’t very good and that it wasn’t nearly as interesting and exciting as the show, but that it still wasn’t a bad read.  Gemma

 

Living dead in Dallas : [a Sookie Stackhouse novel] / Charlaine Harris.

This is the second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series that the tv show True Blood is based off of. I started reading it because I adore the show. I found that this book had a good plot line, but that the writing quality wasn’t very good and that it wasn’t nearly as interestingand exciting as the show, but that it still wasn’t a bad read. Gemma

 

Club Dead : [a Sookie Stackhouse novel] / Charlaine Harris.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  This is the third book in the Sookie Stackhouse series that the tv show True Blood is based off of. I started reading it because I adore the show. I found that this book had a good plot line, but that the writing quality wasn’t very good and that it wasn’t nearly as interesting and exciting as the show, but that it still wasn’t a bad read. This book was better than the first 2 in the series. Gemma

Vortex : a Tempest novel / Julie Cross.

I liked this book. Actually, I liked the idea of it more than the actual story. I love the way the author combined time-travelling, secret organizations, mystery, clones and romance altogether to create the Tempest series. I liked the story too, but it was kind of confusing and I had to read the book more than once to actually understand it (or maybe I was just distracted). It’s hard to keep up when Jackson, the main character, jumps from one time to another, but also from a world to another, and I’m never quite sure where he is until it’s mentioned in the book. Annie

 

The Rithmatist / Brandon Sanderson ; illustrations by Ben McSweeney.

“I adored this book! I cannot wait for the sequel to come out! It was wonderfully written and the characters were fabulous. I recommend it for anyone who likes fantasy. The story is really interesting and it has a few wonderful moments.” Gemma

 

 

This is the 3rd and last book in the Maze Runner series. It was ok, but it really dragged on and it wasn’t very exciting anymore. The death cure / James Dashner.

It had to do with freedom because the characters had to fight to be free of WICKED and their experiments. Gemma

 

 

 

 

Attachments [electronic resource (eBook)] : a novel / Rainbow Rowell.

“I loved this book, it was funny light and I couldn’t put it down. I found myself giggles a lot (like i do with all of Rowell’s books).

I loved the character and the story was extremely original. I enjoy reading as Lincoln slowly fell for Beth without even seeing her. I enjoyed how he fell in love with her, it was different and amazing. I felt like the story was grabbing and the characters well developed. I found it interesting that when Beth and Jennifer where email it wasn’t like a normal book, it was just them talking back and forth.

But there were a few things I didn’t enjoy, mostly it was the change from book writing style to just emails. I felt like when I was reading the emails they didn’t tell me as much as when i was reading the other chapters. It was an interesting way to write but i didn’t really enjoy reading it. I also really wanted more, the ending felt incomplete, it was good but i really wanted more, like an epilogue or something.

I would give this book 4 out of 5 stars and 84%.”  Fatma

 

Jane — our fab last week winner — gives an  8/10 to

Wildwood / Colin Meloy ; illustrations by Carson Ellis.

This book was very interesting, combining both the worldly human struggles, and the magical realm of talking animals. Prue, the main character, sets out to find her brother after he has been kidnapped by crows, and taken to the impassable wilderness. I would give this story an 8 out of 10!  Jane

Speechless / Hannah Harrington.

 Speechless gets 5/5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

“I really liked this books, it ‘s a normal length for a book, but it felt short while i read it. I think i only took around an hour and i flew thought it in one sitting.

This book really graded my from the different obstacles all the character face, to the decisions the main character made. I felt like her decision were always what she should have done and the consequences were to be expected. In other books i feel like a person does something and they just live on, in this book it shows us that every decision has a consequences whether it is good or bad. I also really loved the characters and the story as a whole. This book takes about issues that many people encounter and I felt like the author managed to show them but not in a way that feels forced.

I feel like this books deals with freedom of choice, freedom of opinion and the freedom to make your own decision not the decisions others want you to make. The main character makes a choice that goes against her friends and after that she had the freedom she needed to grow as a person and to make her own choices and not theses of her so-called friends.

I really loved this book and i would give it a 5/5 stars and a 97%”  Fatma

 

Isle of the dead / Emily Rodda.

 

Isle of the Dead is the third book in Emily Rodda’s “Dragons of Deltora” series. The main characters are on a mission to destroy the Four Sisters, four sinister creations of the evil Shadow Lord that poison the land with their toxic songs.  The heroes must face perils of all sorts, from a ghost ship to a ferocious sea monster, in order to reach their goal.  Michael

 

 

 

 

47 / by Walter Mosley.

 

This book 47 by Walter Mosley is about slavery in the eighteenth century. this story is told by a young boy, number 47 describing his experience as a slave on a Plantation in the United States. The main character 47 deals with his loss of his mother and father. 47 has a step mother that took care of 47 since 3 years old when his parents died named Mama Flore. 47 meet this guy named Tall John he came from beyond Africa. Tall John helps 47 try to get away from slavery and he also helps 47 pick cotton. Tall John and 47 meet a girl named eighty four. Eighty four,Tall John and 47 help each other pick cotton. Jacqueline

 

 

 

 

 

Angels & demons / Dan Brown.

“This book was amazing, i really loved the story, setting and characters. I really loved the idea behind the book, which i will not explain here for the sake of not spoiling anyone.

The book is a bit long and it takes sometime to read, but it is mostly fast paced and the parts that aren’t fast are interesting nought to make you want to kept reading.

During some parts of the book i was a bit confused about what was being said or explained, since they started going into detail about a scientific experiment or they started to talk about historical figure I did not know.That would be the only thing I didn’t really like about the book.
I would give this book 4/5 stars and 89%, even thought I feel like it should be 5 stars I also I feel like somethings could have been better explained. ”  Fatma

 

 

 

Die for Me (Revenants, #1)  “Die for me” is the beginning of the Revenants series. This amazing book is a must read for those who love paranormal romance. It talks about a girl named Kate who, along with her sister, will have to live with her grandparents in Paris after their parents die in a tragic car accident. Ever since then, she loses herself in books to escape the pain from losing her beloved ones. Then comes along a boy named Vincent Delacroix. He’s mysterious, has a killer smile and isn’t your ordinary Parisian boy. An encounter at a coffee shop will seal their fates together. In the end, Kate will have to choose whether she is ready or not to finally free herself from her misery and finally let someone in her heart.  Anna Jenina

Until I Die (Revenants, #2)  This is the second book to the Revenants series. Kate has chosen to live in the supernatural world with her lover Vincent and his Revenant family. She is now a part of their world and hence, a new prey to the Revenant’s enemy who hunts them: the Numa. Kate is then thrust into a war that she will have to fight with all her strength in order to save her lover and family. This awesome book is filled with fast paced action and a captivating romance. Amy Plum has written an amazing sequel that will leave you wanting for more.  Anna Jenina

If I Should Die (Revenants, #3)  This is the third and final instalment of the Revenants series. After surviving the war with the Numa, Kate and Vincent’s family are once again fighting for their lives. A betrayal has lead her to lose the love of her life, but she will do anything to get him back. Risks are taken, blood is shed, but she will stop at nothing to get Vincent back once again with her. Also, a surprising turn of events will lead her grandfather into telling her what he knows about the supernatural world she’s been living in and helping her survive the upcoming war. A big risk will change her life forever and she will have no choice but to accept her fate. This book has got me cheering, crying and laughing since the beginning of the series. Now the ending had me shocked at all the twists and turns of events. A very fit ending to an incredible paranormal romance series. Anna Jenina

Linger / Maggie Stiefvater.

Linger has amazed me! The story of werewolves surviving in modern culture and the story of a girl in true love. The second in its series, the characters only begin to realise there is no escape from who you are and what you do. An amazing novel that I would suggest to all. Linger continues to amaze my friends with such an amazing fictional story line!  Hope

One for sorrow : Tales from Cook's Cove / Mary C. Sheppard.

One For Sorrow has brought me to value the true meaning of literacy. This beautiful story of a young Newfoundlanders has so much spirit. Issy overcomes so many challenges that lead her to a better place in life where she can live without the limitations of the past. Hope

This is what happy looks like / Jennifer E. Smith.

 We always seem to search for happiness but, it always surprises those who don’t. This Is What Happy Looks Like has changed my view on unexpected love. When Ellie is e-mailed about babysitting a pig Wilbur, of whom she has never heard of before, she begins to befriend the sender and soon finds out it not exactly who she expected him to be. Can a relationship with a superstar work out for a small town Maine girl and a super move star? I really enjoyed this amazing novel and hope you will too!  Hope

Forever / Maggie Stiefvater.

The third book in Maggie Stiefvaters wonderful trilogy I really enjoyed this novel. When Grace who only recently became a true wolf (she is a werewolf) she soon discovers what danger her friends, pack and lover Sam, are actually in. Discover the dangers of her supernatural life as you read a novel of love, danger and life.  Hope

The One / Kiera Cass.

In this finale of the Selection trilogy, only four contenders are left to compete for the privilege of becoming Prince Maxon’s wife. America, the main character, is not sure where she stands. Now, rebel attacks are becoming more frequent as well as dangerous. She doesn’t know wether she is ready to be the princess, or if she really wants Maxon’s heart. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!  Jane

“I loved this book so much, it was amazing. A great ending to a great series. This book was honestly worth the year wait.

In the first two books the plot was filled with holes. But they were all fixed in this book and it didn’t feel forced, it was well written. I loved how all the secrets were revealed and we finally got to know everything. The book it self was serious and fun at the same time.

I felt like the ending was a bit rushed. It might have been better if the book had been longer. Another thing I didn’t like about this book didn’t have anything to do with the story or writing, but the cover. It looks amazing and it works great with the other covers, but I felt like the cover spoilers the book.

I gave this book a well earned 5 out of 5 stars, and a 97%”  Fatma

 

Book Jacket  I absolutely LOVED this book! I felt the emotions of the main character, Anna(yes it’s the same name as me), throughout the whole story. I can also relate to her life story, which is another reason as to why I found this book well written! I cried, smiled and got mad while reading this book. The romance between Anna and Étienne is indescribable!  It might have been complicated in the beginning since he had a girlfriend, even though he was attracted to Anna. They didn’t have the freedom to love each other, because of that somewhat big obstacle. Although, the anticipation of knowing whether they would get together or not gave me a lot shivers! With so many adventures that happens between them, I couldn’t wait to know the ending of their romantic story! Anyhow, this is a must read for all those who love romantic books. This kept me up all night and it was all worth it!   Anna Jenina

A red herring without mustard : [a Flavia de Luce novel] / Alan Bradley.

This was the 3rd book in the Flavia de Luce series about an 11 year old girl who loves chemistry (mostly poisons) and loves to solve murders. This book was enticing and well written and Flavia is a fabulous character! I really enjoyed this book, as well as the series. Highly recommended!  Gemma

Just listen : a novel / by Sarah Dessen.

” I highly enjoyed reading this book, it was a light funny and romantic read. I enjoyed the plot, characters and story.

But there are things in this book that I disliked. I feel like some of the troubles Annabel faces are a bit exaggerated and unrealistic. I don’t think that the problems themselves are unrealistic or exaggerated. On the contrary it is perfectly normal to face these obstacles, thousands even millions of people do so everyday. What I found unrealistic was the amount of problems she was facing. Annabel has far too much drama in her live, and for all of this to be happening at once is unrealistic and it seemed a bit exaggerated.

I had trouble picking the book up and motivating myself to read it, but once I had it in my hands I flew through it. ”  Fatma

The Scorch Trials / James Dashner.

This is the 2nd book in the Maze Runner trilogy. I really enjoyed the first book, and it ended on a cliff hanger and I was happy to see that The Scorch Trials picked up where The Maze Runner left off. The Scorch Trials wasn’t as exciting in some parts and there were a few scenarios that I found a bit annoying. Overall I enjoyed the book, but it’s not one I would reread.  Gemma

   ” I really enjoyed reading this book, it was hilarious, romantic and just plain fun. The character were developed in an amazing way, I loved everything about them, from the way Harper and David argued to the excuse they come up with when strange stuff would happen.
This book was just plain fun and delightful to read and I was constantly giggling. I couldn’t put it down at all, I finished it in one sitting. The ending was amazing as well, and i can’t wait to get my hands on the next book in this series. I need to know what happens next.

I think that one of the things I didn’t like in this book would be the love triangle, I didn’t enjoy that part of the book. I felt like it was at first it was ok but then near the ending it felt really forced, I didn’t enjoy the romance in general in this book.

But in the end I really enjoy this book and I easily overlooked its small flaws when I gave it 5 out of 5 stars and a 91%.” Fatma

Panic / Lauren Oliver.

“There were many amazing part of this book that I highly enjoyed, the excitement and tension was amazing. I wanted to know what was going to happen next, but I didn’t want to read it. The story it self was amazing and extremely suspenseful. I enjoyed how oliver made the story in different points of view instead of just one. I felt like this way the read would get the entire experience of panic and it allows they to understand the game better. Each character lives a different live and had different views on the game and I felt like that was an amazing thing to read about.

But even if I loved the views of the characters, I couldn’t get myself to care for them or connect to them in any way. I also felt like a few of the scene in the book were a lot like the ones in Oliver’s other novel Delirium. Some for the character, i felt like they were somewhat the same people and that they just had different names.
I feel like this book deals with freedom in a sense of having the freedom of choice. The story takes place in a small town and no one has the money to leave the town. The game panic gives the character a chance to leave and become what they want to be. It also has to do with understanding who you are and being free of your past problems and issues.

I had some trouble grading this book at first, but in the end i settled with 3 out of 5 stars and 76%.” Fatma

Livre

“I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I hoped I would. The beginning was amazing, but after the huge event that happened, there is the time skip, and  I stop liking the book. I enjoyed the day in paris and the ending, but I didn’t like the rest of the book to be honest. In my opinion it was just boring and I felt like the book could have been a lot shorter.

I also didn’t really like the main character, I felt like she had no personality, even through out the book she didn’t seem to grow or develop at all.

I would have to give it a 2/5 stars and a 63%”  Fatma

out of the easy

This was a very interesting book, it was well written and very moving. This book deals with freedom because the main character, Josie, is struggling to be free of her life in New Orleans. She’s the daughter of a prostitute who does not care for her and who steals from her. She wants to be free of her horrible life there and go to college, which she manages to do. Gemma

cressThis is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles and is just as exciting and compelling as the first two books. This novel is full of adventure, action, and a little bit of romance. The book focuses on different characters from chapter to chapter so you don’t miss anything exciting. It deals with freedom because the main characters are fighting to free Earth from an evil lunar queen and Cress is freeing herself from her so-called obligations to this queen and she was freed from a satellite where she had been confined for 7 years.  Gemma

This is the third book in the Lunar chronicles. In this book, Cinder and her accomplices decide to get help from Cress, a girl stuck in a satelite off the moon. However, the rescue of Cress ends disastrously and the group is separated. Even though they are apart, they still are working towards overthrowing the reign of the Lunar queen Levana, and restoring the throne to Cinder, who is the true queen. Jane

nameThis novel was hard to get into at first because I was waiting for the action to start, but when it did it sucked me in. Rory, a teenager from Louisiana, is going to boarding school in London. When there someone starts to recreate Jack the Ripper’s murders. Rory has a near death experience that allows her to see ghosts. She has to fight to free London and her friends of the ghost that’s killing the same way Jack did. Gemma

skul

This book is the 8th in the series, and like the others it was full of action and adventure. This book was amazing, there were so many plot twists and exciting things happening. There were times when I wanted to hurl the book across the room, which is always a sign of good reading material. Gemma

Leave a Reply

