A Lesson Book


magnus2I love Rick Riordan.  I enjoyed everything I have read by him so far.  They are teaching books without getting in your face about it.

Until this one.

I appreciated the diversity of characters, however, instead of just sneaking in strong Muslim or gender fluid characters and having them speak for themselves, I felt like our friend Rick was really trying to hammer home, (ha ha, that was an accidental pun), the fact.  I found it came off as a bit preachy and distracted from the plot at times and so I took longer than usual to read this one.

He almost lost me until he referenced “The Princess Bride”.

Overall, I liked revisiting the Norse mythology that I read about as a kid and will keep up with the series.

Leave a Reply

